Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

What’s In A Name?

on January 31, 2014

photo

Last night Mike and I finally shook hands and agreed on our son’s name- Jackson Xavier.

I have loved the name Jackson since my friend named his son that 14 years ago.  Jack is a family name for Mike but I have a nephew named Jack so we couldn’t use that.  Mike liked Jackson just as much so that was agreed upon before we even knew he was a boy.

The middle name wasn’t as easy to decide.  I don’t have a middle name so it would be fine with me if my son didn’t have one either.  There was no way the middle name would be Michael, especially with the first name of Jackson.  Mike wanted Alexander and I wanted Xavier.  He didn’t have any reasoning behind Alexander other than he just liked it.  Of course, me being me, I had a few reasons why I liked Xavier.

1) we will call the baby either Jackson or Jax.  I like that Xavier ties in the X in Jax

2) I’m a huge geek when it comes to my childhood.  I loved (and still do) Marvel & DC Comics and Super Heros.  Charles Xavier was the leader of the X-Men.  Wait, maybe I should name him Wolverine?

3) Again with the childhood memories- Cabbage Patch Kids.  Anyone who grew up in the 80’s remembers the signature on the butts of all Cabbage Patch Kids- Xavier Roberts.  I was obsessed with Cabbage Patch Kids and Koosas (the cabbage patch pets).  Coincidentally, Xavier Roberts was born on Oct 31st- my transfer day.  That made it a no brainer for me!

Mike was back and forth.  Alexander was ok but I wasn’t thrilled with it.  Plus his initials would be JAM and I would always think of peanut butter.  Last night Mike wrote out both names on a piece of paper and decided he really did like Xavier better.  Plus he thought it was cool to have X in a name.  He could sign things Jackson X or graffiti a big X on the wall with a little J on the left and a little M on the right lol.  Yes, these are the things that run through my mind.

3 responses to “What’s In A Name?

  1. Candle74 says:

    Congratulations on selecting a middle name. This coming from someone whose middle initial is X, Ximena.

    Also thank you for sharing your journey. For me, it has given me hope on my own DE journey. My transfer if all all sticks to plan will be 3/2. So happy!

  2. Eggdonor13 says:

    I LOVE that name xxxxx

Leave a Reply

