Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Ask The Egg Donor…

on December 18, 2013

untitled

As part of my Anonymous Soapbox series I would LOVE to get into the mind and heart of an egg donor.   We all have questions and most will never get the opportunity to ask our donor.  Below is a list of some questions I’ve come up with.  My plan is to finalize a list and then find at least 3 egg donors to answer the questions.  If you have any questions you would like added either leave them in the comment section below or email them to me blahblahblog3@aol.com

If you are an egg donor and would like to participate- either with additional questions or answers- please email me.  All egg donors, unless they choose otherwise, will remain anonymous.

How old are you?

How many times have you donated?

Were you told anything about the recipients or given any results of the transfer(s)?

Did you give yourself the shots or have someone else do it?

What are your reasons for wanting to be an egg donor?

If this was your first time donating would you do it again?

Are you an anonymous donor or a known donor?

Do you ever want to find out about or be connected with children that resulted from your eggs?

Have you ever regretted being a donor?

Do you have children?

Do you want children?

If you are married or dating someone how did/does your partner feel about you being a donor?

Egg recipients often have a ton of anxiety about retrieval day- how many eggs will be retrieved, how many will fertilize, etc.  What, if any, were your anxieties about that day?

Do you ever think about the recipients?  If so, what are your thoughts?

How do you feel toward the babies that were created using your eggs?  Do you feel like they are a part of you?

Is there anything else you would like to share?

What is the easiest thing about being an egg donor?

What is the hardest thing about being an egg donor?

10 responses to “Ask The Egg Donor…

  1. rosiedd78 says:

    Great list. I have one other question, which is a little different from the one you have about being connected with children. Would you agree to be contacted by a child who was created as a result of your egg donation?

  2. I am just going through the egg donation process, it’s my first time. If I can help in any way just ask xxx. Not sure that I can answer all of the questions but I can certainly answer a few. I am also writing a blog at the same time as I want to raise awareness, not enough women donate and I feel that the waiting lists are often too long xxx
    http://donor13.blog.co.uk/ you may find that reading this answers some of your queries xxx

  3. I hope you don’t mind but I have mentioned you on my blog. I find your blog a joy to read and I look forward to your posts. You are also helping me with my journey (and the funny thing is you probably don’t even realise that) xxx

  4. Kat says:

    Miss your posts! Hope everything is chugging along nicely!

  5. Anonymous says:

    You haven’t posted for a while and I’m just hoping everything is going well and that you have had a lovely holiday!

Leave a Reply

