Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Growing A Person

on November 25, 2013

allStagesButtons

Its confirmed- I’m growing a person.  We went in for our 1st official ultrasound this morning and saw the flicker of the heartbeat.  I suppose “flicker” is a fertility forum term because that’s what I was looking for and didn’t see it so I panicked but Doogie Howser pointed it out.  It actually looked more like a waving alien lol.  Mike’s eyes filled up with tears and he kept saying “wow that’s so cool” and “Oh my God that’s so amazing”.  He was totally impressed and I think seeing this actually made it real for him.  He’s been saying all along that he probably won’t feel like its real until we are painting a nursery or my belly is huge.  Up until now he’s just been giving me the shots and dealing with food cravings but other than that there is no solidification for him that I’m pregnant.  But seeing that little life inside of me really hit home for him.  It did for me too.  Of course being the true infertile that I am and always remaining guarded and on my toes- I wore waterproof mascara today.  I didn’t feel too nervous but I wanted to be prepared just in case something didn’t go right.

Here is our Pumpkin (the white alien inside the black blob in the center of the gray static lol)

photo

I know its hard to figure out what you’re looking at.  Here is what a baby looks like at 6 weeks, 2 days.  Keep in mind this is not our Pumpkin- its a zoomed in picture of someone else’s sea monkey.   I’m just using this as a reference…

embryo_6weeks

Told you it looks like an alien/sea monkey.

So it looks like we have tons to be thankful for this turkey day.  I did however cancel Thanksgiving because I was nervous to deal with all the stress of hosting a holiday while providing a good environment for our pumpkin.  Mike and I will have a quiet dinner with just my mom.  We will save the stress and chaos for Christmas Eve.

7 responses to “Growing A Person

  1. I’m so happy for u!! What a beautiful little ultrasound photo u got today. that was the same stage i saw my baby first too. 6 weeks 2 days. Congratulations!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Congrats 🙂 I am so sincerely thrilled for you! There seems to be an invisible bond between us women with difficulties getting/staying pregnant so it always makes my day when I see someone in my ‘invisible circle’ get the miracle they deserve. Huge congrats again and sorry this post is all mush mush lol

  3. Anonymous says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  4. Megan says:

    Aw, that’s great! Congrats again:)

  5. Yay congrats. So so exciting

  6. hope says:

    yeah, yeah yeah!!! What wonderful news!!!

Leave a Reply

