Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

I’m PUPO- Take 2

on November 1, 2013

hope closer

I’m sorry I didn’t post anything sooner but yesterday was pretty exhausting (in more ways than one) and I just didn’t have the energy to write.  So as of yesterday (Halloween) I am officially a PUPO Princess (pregnant unless proven otherwise).  

My transfer was scheduled for noon but I had to call the embryologist at 11 to see what survived the thaw.  Of course it takes more than an hour to get there so I called while we were already on our way.  I wanted to vomit from nerves.  There was no real reason to suspect one wouldn’t thaw but you can never be sure about anything on this journey. They thawed the highest grade embryo and it survived yay!  This is the little pumpkin they put inside of me.

cropped pumpkin

I know it doesn’t look too pretty but it was Grade AA and hatching when frozen.   My clinic doesn’t grade them again when they are thawed but the embryologist said it looked perfect.

This was the sign on the inside of my locker

faith

I put my barking transfer socks on and went into the procedure room

socks

This is me with my legs up waiting for them to check my bladder.  And yes, I’m naked from the waist down with a spot light on my cooch with the lab door open for all the world to see- good times!

legs up

Checking to see if my bladder is full.  YES!!!!!  Its very, very full…

checking my bladder

That’s me watching them do the practice transfer.  I’m also freezing so I’m all bundled up.

looking at US

The real deal.  This is the RE putting the pumpkin in the pumpkin patch.   I know this one is blurry but Mike was trying to watch the ultrasound screen while taking a pic of the RE at the same time.

putting it in

And here is our little pumpkin in the pumpkin patch.  You can barely see it but its right where Mike’s thumb is.

pumppkin patch

I didn’t have time the day before transfer to get my princess crown so I made Mike run into the party store on the way home.  It’s not something I would have picked lol

crown

But every princess needs a crown and now I have one.  My beta is scheduled for Nov 9th which means my 2nd beta (God willing) will be on Nov 11th- yes, 11/11- very cool.  One good thing is the 9th is a Saturday so Mike and I will be together when we get the results call.  Granted, we need to drive over an hour that morning to have my blood drawn but it will be worth it- fingers crossed!!!

I pray this little pumpkin snuggles deep and sticks around.

dear lord

11 responses to “I’m PUPO- Take 2

  1. Yay!! Glad everything went well… and all the best for a strong beta number xxx

  2. newtoivf says:

    Have everything crossed for you xx

  3. Fingers crossed and prayers ready…… xoxo

  4. Kass says:

    Good job girl! 🙂 Fingers crossed! 🙂 And btw – I do looove the socks! 😀

    Kass

  5. slc611 says:

    Fingers crossed for you guys! Ugh, weekend visits are the worst since only Somerset is open!

  6. hay610 says:

    Sending my best wishes for a speedy 2ww and great results! I’m starting my first DE cycle at IVF- NJ in December!

  7. Lauren says:

    Wishing all good things for you and your little pumpkin! Thank you for such an informative post too — it’s helpful to me to have an idea of the protocol. So much love xx

  8. Caroline says:

    Praying!!! Love the pictures too:-)

Leave a Reply

