Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Bye Bye Cousin It

on September 20, 2013

photo

I’m finally cutting my hair!  I know I said I wasn’t going to cut it until I was pregnant but I was pregnant- it just didn’t last.  I can’t wait until my next cycle/transfer/betas because then I wouldn’t be cutting it until mid-Nov.  It’s really getting out of control and has to go.

It hasn’t been cut in over 2 years and I have to admit I have zero sense of fashion.  M wants me to get an actual “style”.   I promised him I wouldn’t go to Super Cuts for a $15 haircut and I would go to an actual salon.  I asked for recommendations on FB and got a few.  Of course the one I picked was strictly for the name- Hot Mess.  How could I not go there?  I have “hot mess” written all over me lol.  I’m planning to donate at least 12 inches.  I figure I will put it in a pony tail, have them cut it off and then style it from there.  It’s going to be short.  Not gym teacher short but maybe just a little below my jaw line.  M is very excited.  He loves the look of my long hair but I HATE hair so I always wear it in a pony tail.  I think he’s pretty sick of the pony tail by now.

I’ve already donated my hair twice to Locks of Love so this time I decided to donate it to a different organization.  I chose Pantene and their Beautiful Lengths program.  They have partnered with the American Cancer Society.

http://www.pantene.com/en-US/PanteneBeautifulLengths/Pages/default.aspx

I have been blessed with beautiful hair and it’s really easy for me to grow so I love donating it to those who are less fortunate.  It really makes me feel great to be able to help someone in need.  I needed eggs to have a baby and someone has been generous enough to help me.  One good turn deserves another.

4 responses to “Bye Bye Cousin It

  1. barrenbetty says:

    You really do have amazing hair!! I had forgotten about Cousin It until I saw your pic… Made me lolz. I wasn’t going to cut my hair until I was pregnant either, then I gave up and had it cut into a bob 2 years ago, and it’s long again now! I loved my short hair though… might copy you and get rid of mine again soon 😉 xx

  2. damelapin says:

    Wow, you do have beautiful hair!! What cut do you have now?

  3. a.e.g. says:

    How exciting! New hair is always refreshing. That is great you are donating it. 🙂 You’re right; we’ve got to keep doing some good for others. Egg donors are sent from heaven as far as I’m concerned.

  4. Lisette says:

    Wow, beautiful locks girl! Give us the scoop on the new look xx

Leave a Reply

