Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Eh, What’s One More Needle?

on September 11, 2013

untitled

I went to Walgreens and got my flu shot yesterday.  I am typically not a fan of the flu shot since I got one years ago and then got violently ill afterward.  I know me getting sick had nothing to do with getting the shot and it was mere coincidence or rather a FLUke lol.  But ever since that time I have equated flu shot to deathly ill.  My favorite scientist friend strongly urged me to get one this year.  I know getting the flu while pregnant can be very bad so I went ahead and got one.

The pharmacist was treating me like a 5-year-old. I felt like she thought I was going to freak out from the needle.  She kept saying things like “when I give you the shot look away” “it will only pinch for a second” “try to stay still”.  Finally I looked at her and said, “I’m an IVF veteran.  I get IM shots” to which she replied “oh, ok” as she stabbed me in my arm lol.  Honestly I didn’t even feel it.

It cracks me up that my insurance (Horizon) completely covers my IVF yet they don’t cover the flu shot.  Their reasoning is probably you can’t do anything to cure the flu so who cares.  The pharmacists said sometime its covered if you get it from your primary care physician.  There was no way I was trying to get an appointment and I have a $20 co-pay anyway so I just paid for the shot- $31.99- chumb change.

flu_shot_poster-p228669758480602309t5ta_400

 

One response to “Eh, What’s One More Needle?

  1. a.e.g. says:

    Haha! Seriously, it’s just hilarious when healthcare professionals try to ease our anxiety about shots … If they only knew. That is ridiculous (in a good kind of way) your insurance doesn’t cover flu shots but does cover IVF! Thousands of dollars in meds and procedures, but that flu shot cost? That’ll really break the bank. 😉 P.S. I found your blog today, and please know you are in my prayers. This journey isn’t easy. And BTW, you are hysterical!!! I LOLd at work today … so thanks for that as I’m recovering from embryo transfer failure #4.

Leave a Reply

