Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Drum Roll Please…

on August 8, 2013

blog-hear_ye

I have a confession to make.  I know today was my beta but yesterday I couldn’t take it any longer and I peed on a stick.  I had 2 digital pregnancy tests left over from ages ago.  Ironically they expired Aug 2013- coincidence?   I didn’t have any symptoms and I’ve been kinda used to being unlucky.  I didn’t even have much pee in me because taking the test was more of an afterthought.  It was not pre-meditated.   I dribbled a little on it, put the cap on and put it on the bathroom floor.  I went about my business not rushing to check it since this was more of a formality and preparation for my beta.   I was fully prepared for it to say Not Pregnant.  But when I looked I saw…

pg

I shook my head because I thought I didn’t read it right.  What?  I’m pregnant???  YES!  I’M PREGNANT!!!!!!  I was shaking.  I couldn’t believe it.  Pregnant?  Me?  Perhaps my overly fertile guppies swapped pregnancy tests with me when I wasn’t looking?  I was in total, total shock.  And then it hit me.  I literally fell to my knees and started hysterically crying.  I was looking up at the ceiling and crying “Thank you God!” over and over again.   That’s all I could say.  I was still afraid to believe it though so I tried to ignore it for the rest of the day until I could go to the store and get more sticks.  I was afraid that since they expire this month that maybe it was a false positive hehe. 

Apparently other people subconsciously knew I was pregnant as well.  There must have been some vibe in the universe lol.    M randomly called me to see how I was doing.  We often talk on the way to work but that’s only after he texts me and says “call on the way in if you want”.  That’s his version of “I want someone to talk to while I’m sitting in traffic” lol.  He asked how I was doing today, how did I feel, etc.  It was so hard not to spill the beans but I wanted to tell him in person.   Plus I needed more confirmation to be sure.   I played it off like all was normal.   He started to decipher my symptoms or lack there of.  “Well babe you did have cramps on Sunday and you were spotting on Monday.”  I had to explain to him that spotting is actually something on your underwear and not just a pink tint on the toilet paper twice when you wiped.  He was very adorable though thinking he was Joe RE.

Facebook knew I was pregnant.  And of course it came in 3.

The first thing I saw when I opened my newsfeed was…

dr suess

Yes- today is my day!  And my belly will be a mountain soon enough. 

Second, my friend Starr (my rock through all this) posted this on my Facebook page.  We love joking about camel toes and it was Wed but more importantly look at the page it was shared from…

camel

Yup, Being Mommy. 

Third- This “Suggested App” showed up in my newsfeed…

app

All these things were pointing in the direction that the pee stick was right.  But I couldn’t tell anyone at the time because M made me pinky swear a while ago that if I was ever pregnant I would tell him first.  This came about because a close friend of mine told me she was pregnant before she told her husband.  M was very vocal about how rude he felt that was, hence the pinky swear.  Plus, once again I needed to be sure.  I’m not sure how many tests it would take to convince me but I was determined to keep peeing.

9 responses to “Drum Roll Please…

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!!

  2. lydiaseeks says:

    Awesome news! Congratulations 🙂

  3. Awesome! Congratulations! When I read your post yesterday, I was wondering if you were going to give in before beta. hehehe … I’m so happy for you! You did what I did when I found out. Dropped to my knees crying my heart out thanking God. Best wishes for all the months ahead. 🙂

  4. GatorGirl says:

    So exciting! Congrats! Can’t wait to hear what your beta number is, I am sure it will be great!

  5. hope says:

    yeah! yeah! How wonderful!!!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations!!! So happy for you!

  7. Kitten says:

    Whoo hoo!! Congratulations!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I am so thrilled for you!!! Congrats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

