Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

And My Beta Is…

on August 8, 2013

test

13- yes you read that correct and it’s not missing any other numbers.  One-Three. 

So anything over 5 is technically pregnant but 13 is pretty low.  My RE said not to stress over it.  She has seen many women start out with a low number and go on to have a healthy pregnancy.  I’m less pissed about the low # than I am about having gotten my hopes up.  When I went for blood work this morning I had confessed to them that I peed on a stick and it was positive.  They were all congratulating me.  My nurse hugged me and whispered in my ear, “We cheated too- we’ve know since Monday”.  So she was happy that it showed up so early because Monday was only 7 days into it.  They were expecting it to be a very high number so that’s what I was banking on.  When she said 13 I nearly vomited.  Usually they have you come back 2 days later and hope that the beta doubled.  They told me not to come in on Sat and to just wait until Mon.  She thought if we have a late bloomer the # would only go up slightly and not double but they would have a good idea of what is going on by Mon.  She told me to enjoy my weekend and stay “cautiously optimistic”.  Ugh, you know how I hate that phrase!  Please keep our little bean in your prayers and hope he is a fighter.

fingers

9 responses to “And My Beta Is…

  1. Kitten says:

    Can nothing be easy? Keeping everything crossed for you!

  2. GatorGirl says:

    Praying for you!

  3. Kat says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you!! So they tested your beta on Monday and it was positive then? Did she say what the number was on Monday? Thinking about you and rooting for your little bean!!

  4. Kass says:

    I’m with the rest of the med staff on this – positive is positive. The bean is just probably taking the time. 🙂 Keepig my fingers and toes crossed! Try not to drive yourself crazy and enjoy the weekend. Remember of the buttercups. 🙂 Lots of hugs!

  5. hope says:

    wishing your 13 grows and grows and grows!!!

  6. Suzanne says:

    I will be sending so many positive vibes that your number soars over the weekend. Many hugs coming your way.

  7. Dipitie says:

    (((HUGS))) I have seen numbers that low end up being viable, healthy, full term pregnancies. Sending you hope and positive thoughts xoxo

  8. NoVAgurl says:

    13 is one of my lucky numbers–hope it is just as lucky for you! ❤

  9. Lauren says:

    I am also cycling at IVF-NJ and have just begun my two week wait. My fingers are crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

