Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

PIO is a PIA

on August 6, 2013

Pain_In_The_Butt

PIO (progesterone in oil) is a PIA (pain in ass)!  At first I had no problem with it.  The injections barely hurt, I didn’t bruise and I wasn’t sore.   Well, I guess that all adds up after a while.  To date I’ve only had 9 shots of Delestrogen and 14 shots of PIO.  I know it doesn’t sound like a lot but now whenever I get a shot I feel like the guy in the picture.  I’m so sore that I have a hard time sitting on the couch or getting comfortable in bed at night.  I have 10 more weeks of this to go- yikes!

For some reason the left side hurts WAY more than the right.  In fact I think I’m not going to do it on the left for a while and give that muscle a chance to heal.  I do the PIO every night but on Mondays and Thursdays I do the Delestrogen as well.  Last night I got the Delestrogen on the left and I actually cried out and had tears in my eyes.  It hurt like hell.  I was super sore for a few hours after.  Wearing sweatpants even hurt me. 

This is a sample of what my ass looks like on any given day…

photo

You can see the needle holes- gross.  When I go back on Thursday I’m going to see if the nurse can draw the circles somewhere else so I can give those spots a rest.  The one thing that I do love about the shots is when M says “Its time to feed the bean” or “Its time for Bean to get his medicine”  Those phrases make the pain so worth it.

4 responses to “PIO is a PIA

  1. This happened to me. I did have to give one side a break for a bit and tweak the injection site. Eventually the bruises and pain went away as if my butt was immune to the shots. But for a few days it was misery to sit/lay. I know what you mean tho that its worth the pain to think of feeding baby. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Same thing happened to me. I was getting mine on the thigh. The right one got an abscess so I did 6 consecutive on the left. On the 6th one I couldn’t walk. I think I hit a nerve or something. I ended up with a BFN so I did not have to do the full 90days.

  3. TL says:

    We were given extra needles: 1 needle is used to draw up the PIO. Then you change the needle to do the injection. Apparently, the needle dulls when punctured in the PIO bottle. Also, have you tried icing about 10 minutes or so before the injection? One of the RE nurses suggested it to me. Seems to help.

  4. my1111wish says:

    I use 2 different sized needles. The larger ones are to draw up the oil and the smaller (although really not small) are to inject. My clinic (and the previous clinic) are adamant about not using ice. They say it messes with the absorption into the muscle. I know plenty of women who ice but I’m following doctor’s orders lol.

Leave a Reply

