Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Dear Embryo,

on July 31, 2013

home-sweet-home

Dear Embryo,

Hi little bean I’m your Mommy- welcome to my uterus.   I would have written to you sooner but Daddy insisted on me resting.   He’s afraid the computer and my cell phone will make you feel like you’re in a tanning booth.   He’s super nervous and extremely protective of you.   Because of that he’s being way more protective of me than usual.  He pretty much has me on lockdown but that’s ok- I find it very attractive.  One of the reasons I fell in love with him was because I knew he would make a great Daddy.   You’re going to love him- I promise!  I’m at work today so I figured I would sneak in a quick hello to you while he’s not around.  Shhh- don’t tell Daddy.  This will be our first of many secrets we will share- just the two of us- and not tell him. 

You’ve been hanging out in there since Monday so by now I’m hoping you picked a good comfy spot and are chilling out for 9 months.  You don’t know what we look like yet but we know what you look like.   I have your picture in my phone and I look at it all the time.  I caught Daddy staring at you last night.   I can tell he’s in total awe.   We both love you so much already.   We want you to know that we worked so hard for you and really want you to pick us as your parents.  We won’t know for another 2 weeks if you decide to stay or not.  Please, please take a chance on us.  We’ve wanted you for so long and will do anything to have you and hold you and make you happy.   I pray that you snuggle tight into me. 

Much Love, Hugs and Kisses,

Mommy

6 responses to “Dear Embryo,

  1. Georgia Peach :) says:

    Not fair…you made me cry 😦 I am sooooooo happy for you! he/she is a lucky one! and will be there in the comfy place waiting to meet you guys!

  2. Dipitie says:

    This ,made me tear up a little, hoping this is the one! xoxoxo

  3. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful post 🙂 Really hope this is it for you — can’t think of anyone more deserving!

  4. asugirl97 says:

    I just started following you and can’t tell you how much I love getting your new posts! Really cheering you and your little embryo…sending you all my sunshine! We are in the process of picking our donor (going on a month….ugh!) and your blog has been quite an inspiration….thank you!

  5. Kristen Ontiveros says:

    I truly hope that this works for you. I am a few months ahead of you in the donor egg process and your words reflect so many things that I felt and went through. I am rooting for you… And I wanted to let you know that dreams do come true, we only had 5 eggs retrieved but I am currently 5 1/2 months pregnant with twins and have another two on ice.

  6. Anonymous says:

    wow you had posted to my forum post so I clicked on your blog. I did the same thing after my second IVF transfer…wrote a letter to my embies. Our letters are very similar and reading yours made my tear up. Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

