Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

I’m Finally PUPO!

on July 30, 2013

Little Bean

Yup that’s right- I’m finally PUPO (pregnant unless proven otherwise).  I had my transfer yesterday and everything went well.  M has me under house arrest and living in a bubble so this post will be short.  He is limiting my time on the computer and cell phone in case the electronic waves fry the embryo lol. 

I started out the day with a mini heart attack.  I didn’t sleep very well (nightmares and nerves) and went to check my voicemail.   Half asleep I hear, “Hi this is Tina from IVF NJ.  Sorry to call you but…”  My heart totally stopped beating.  I was so afraid my transfer was being cancelled.  It turns out it was the Freehold office checking where I was because I hadn’t shown up for my blood work.  The second voicemail was Tina telling me to disregard her previous message.  She just saw the note that I would be getting my blood work done at the transfer office.  Ugh- I’m supposed to be stress free.

I took my time savoring the last cup of coffee I would be having for 9 months.  I gathered up my Valium, water bottle and fuzzy socks and we hit the road.  I noticed that M hadn’t shaved.  He said he was afraid to use shaving cream since they told us no lotions, powders, perfumes, deodorants, etc.  Awww- he’s already looking out for the well-being of our little bean. 

We had to wait a while to get the ball rolling.  It was torture for me.  All I wanted was to hear we had some good embryos.  The embryologist finally came in and showed us our bean.  That’s him in the picture.  I don’t know if it’s a boy but I keep saying him for some reason.  We were told he was a good strong B quality- almost an A.  So I say he’s a B+ but I guess technically they don’t have +.  Of the 15 that fertilized we had 8 that were still growing.  They had not reached the Blastocyst stage so they were giving them 1 more day to grow to see if they would make it to freeze.  I really hope they do or its all resting on this little one inside me. 

The transfer was a piece of cake.  We all wore sexy surgery hats and watched on the screen.  M was sitting by my head and totally amazed.  I had to use the bed pan after because there was no way I was going to be able to hold it for 30 mins.   After my resting time was done we went home and I crawled into bed.  I was exhausted. 

The embryologist called this morning.  We have 4 frosties- yay!  He said 1 is very good quality.  3 are not as good but freeze worthy and definitely worth taking a chance on.  It’s so amazing how we started with 41 eggs and then are left with 1 inside and 4 on ice.  I guess it really is quality over quantity.  Let’s just hope this little bean snuggling in me is one of the quality ones.

6 responses to “I’m Finally PUPO!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Congrats! So happy for you! I’ve been checking your blog periodically and hoping that no news didn’t mean bad news.

    Get some rest and good luck!

    Philly 10 (from PVED)

  2. He’s beautiful! And LOVED that your hubby didn’t use shaving cream as a precaution. AWESOME. Thinking of you. Glad to hear it went well.

  3. hope says:

    Congratulations on being PUPO and 5 5-days is great! Good luck with the 2ww. I will be rooting for you!!

  4. Whoo hoo!! Awesome! And btw… he’s adorable. 😉

  5. maddie says:

    Yay! That’s great news!

  6. newtoivf says:

    brilliant news -congrats on being PUPO and on your frosties xx

Leave a Reply

