Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

We Have A Football Team!

on July 25, 2013

imagesCA32FLCE

I got a call from the embryologist congratulating us for being the proud parents of 15 embryos.  Translation- of the 41 eggs only 15 fertilized.  She said some of them were not mature so they didn’t bother with them.  The others were just bad eggs.  I’m so glad that I was realistic yesterday and not hoping all 41 would fertilize.  I’m totally good with 15.  Again, not all of them will make it to transfer on Mon.  Some will stop growing and expire (die) but 15 is a good starting point.  With 15 the odds are in our favor that we will have at least 1 on Mon and hopefully a few to freeze.  I won’t get any updates of their status until Mon. 

Mom was the winner in our embryo pool.  I guess it was her Mother’s Instincts that cast her vote.  Little did she know that the prize is a week of diaper changes- and that means the baby’s, not her’s lol. 

For those who don’t know we are doing eSET (elective single embryo transfer) which means we are only putting 1 embryo in.  Since I only have half of my cervix I would not be able to successfully carry twins.  There is still a chance of the 1 embryo splitting but those chances are slim.

5 responses to “We Have A Football Team!

  1. You may have covered this before and I just missed it. Will you have a preventative cerclage placed around 12 weeks? Glad to hear your good news. Thinking of you and your growing babes!!!!!

  2. newtoivf says:

    Congrats! Am hoping those embies keep growing!

  3. my1111wish says:

    My OBGYN said not everyone needs them but I will be high risk and they will check me weekly. If it starts to get too small they will give me a cerclage. She said I might be able to get away with having one and not being on bed rest- fingers crossed!

  4. lydiaseeks says:

    15 is an awesome starting point! Here’s hoping to lots of happy healthy cell splitting over the next few days.

  5. Whoa! Yay on the great little babies you have growing!

Leave a Reply

