Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Trying Not To Put All My Eggs In One Basket…

on July 18, 2013

Eggs-Lots

…and by eggs I mean excitement.  I know they say don’t count your chickens before they hatch and in the IVF world that means some follicles can be empty.  But my nurse’s report today is: so far so good.  She said Buttercup just had the first ultrasound yesterday and “so far the follicles are still small so there is no count yet per se, but she’s gots LOTS on both sides”.  The LOTS was followed by a smiley face so I’m going to take that as a good lots and not a bad lots.  For those who don’t know- too many eggs is no bueno.  You want a decent amount- quality over quantity.  Typically when there are too many the quality is not so good.  Translation- your honey pot is sweeter when you put a bunch of bees in one hive as opposed to just a few bees in several hives.  I just love that Winnie the Pooh bear.

il_fullxfull_298215255

She has another ultrasound tomorrow so I’ll check back with my nurse on Monday.  Retrieval is still on track for the 24th or 25th.  I feel like my heart is beating out of my chest.

2 responses to “Trying Not To Put All My Eggs In One Basket…

  1. hopobopo says:

    When will your transfer be? So excited for you!

  2. my1111wish says:

    5 days after the retrieval so either the 29th or 30th

Leave a Reply

