Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Count This

on July 11, 2013

Middle Finger Salute Baby 027

There are all sorts of different count downs and tickers available on the internet.  In our world, mostly you see them at the bottom of people’s blogs or forum signatures counting down to their due date.  But did you know you can also get tickers for logging your TTC (trying to conceive) failures?  Yup- it will tell you how many days you’ve been dreaming, how many pee sticks you’ve violated, how much money you’ve burned, how many hours you’ve spent with Dr Google and other websites.  You can even get it to log how many times you’ve forced yourself to have sex just because you’re ovulating.  And if all that isn’t enough you can even log your miscarriages.  Yes, because that’s what everyone likes to do.  I wonder when Facebook will create a ticker with how many random sex partners you’ve had on a drunken night or how many oops abortions you’ve had. 

Here is a sample.  This is obviously not mine.  Mine would look a lot more grime and have more numbers and decimal points and commas.  This is clearly the ticker of a newbie or a teenager trying to get on that stupid Mtv show…

ttc-journey-pink-sample

http://www.countdowntopregnancy.com/tickers/

 No, I will not be creating a TTC ticker.  I would rather stick hot pokers in my eyes than see in black and white (or black and pink and white) how much time, money, energy etc I’ve wasted so far.  It would be like reading my own obituary.  I would much rather wait until I’m pregnant and track my successes instead of my failures.  I want others to know that my baby is now the size of a pea and has little arm nubs or the size of a grapefruit and is starting to grow hair.  That’s the stuff that matters to me. 

I came across a quote the other day that really puts this all in perspective, “There’s a reason the rearview mirror is so small and the windshield is so big- where you’re headed is much more important than what you’ve left behind.”

 

7 responses to “Count This

  1. babyhopeful says:

    Omg I can’t believe this actually exists!!! Don’t think I’ll be getting one either. Love the quote at the end. I’ll remember that one. Thank you. x

  2. newtoivf says:

    This is hideous!

  3. my1111wish says:

    I don’t mean to judge anyone who has one- in fact some of my friends and followers do- but its just not for me. I can see how it can maybe be fun at first but after several failures it would seem depressing. I don’t need any reminders of how much my body sucks lol.

  4. lydiaseeks says:

    I can not even imagine keeping track of pee sticks! I mean, HUNDREDS have been peed on. And the money…ugh. I think once you’re working with an RE it’s best not to keep too close a track on that one…

  5. hope says:

    The sad part is most of the pee sticks I use are to check that I am still in peri-menopause. I am the most confused person at the drug store buying my super heavy duty nighttime anti-wrinkle cream and pee sticks.

  6. hopobopo says:

    I love going to to the pharmacy and picking up birth control pills and my prenatal vitamins!

  7. Dipitie says:

    I’m going to create one! Just because I’m a glutton for punishment and masochistic.

Leave a Reply

