Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Butt Shot Class

on July 7, 2013

pio shot location

Friday M, my mom and I went to the clinic for a quick tutorial on how to administer the butt shots.  As you can tell from the picture the shots don’t really go in your butt but above the crack line.  The needle is 1 1/2 inches long and thick as shit.   I feel like they will be going into my bone but the nurse assured me there is a pocket of muscle there and the needle will fit nicely.  Yeah, we shall see.  She demonstrated on a little foam cushion that looks nothing like my shot site.  The shots seem easy enough to give but receiving still looks like a nightmare.  I have to admit I have huge anxiety over this.  I question whether or not I can go through with it.  Everyone assures me that I’ll be fine but in my head I’m thinking, “yeah, it’s not your muscle these shots are going into.”  I’ll have to do the PIO shots every night for 12 weeks.  The Delestrogen shots start tomorrow night.  Those I only have to take twice a week (Mondays and Thursdays) but still for 12 weeks.  I had a ton of anxiety over the stomach shots but luckily the anxiety was worse than the actual shots.  I’ve taken hundreds of those over the past year.  I still haven’t figured out how to dispose of my used needles so I have tons of red biohazard boxes in a closet.  Maybe one day I’ll take them all out a play a game with them or something.  Maybe a sadistic version of Pick Up Sticks or something like that.  Maybe I’ll play darts and use pictures of fertiles as my target. 

The nurse asked if I need to learn how to do the stomach shots.  I told her I was a pro at them since I’ve already done 3 cycles with my own eggs.  She said, “and you’ve never needed to do the PIO shots?”  I told her no because we had never made it to transfer.  She repeated “never?” and looked at me like I was a freak of nature.  Yes lady- NEVER- because I have shitty, rotten eggs.  If I didn’t then I wouldn’t be here but thanks for making me feel great about it!

999-300x210

6 responses to “Butt Shot Class

  1. Yep. where the picture shows is where they need to be. they hurt the least there. its not where i thought they should go but sure enough! And btw i had fear of needle on bone too but in all the time i got them it never did happen.

  2. I’m so happy for you being so close to transfer! Best wishes!

  3. Kat says:

    Your clinic should Be able to take your red biohazard containers! No need to hoard em 😉

  4. Boy does this bring back memories. I remember my shot class like it was yesterday. I was a needle phobia until after my donor cycle. My kid is going to be 13 this does work:)

  5. Anonymous says:

    speaking of biohazard buckets, I think I filled over 10 of them last year! it was crazy!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I start these big shots next Friday, and I was told to lie on your stomach and go “pigeon-toed” to disengage the muscles so it hurts less…. Worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

