Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Here Fishy Fishy

on June 1, 2013

mother-fish-baby-fish-cartoon-14804762

As if we didn’t have enough creatures in our zoo (2 dogs, 1 cat and 2 ferrets) M got me fish for Christmas.  

tank

We started out with 4 fancy tail guppies and then within 2 weeks we had 12.  Leave it to us to buy a pregnant fish.  M’s mom was here for the holiday so she helped me suck all the babies out with a turkey baster and we put them in a wine glass.  The babies looked like little sperm and I looked like a RE performing an IUI.  It was so hard to catch them- I felt like I was at the board walk playing a game.  Eventually we got them all. 

fish

Within a few months the adults died and most of the babies.  We were left with 3 babies- such is the circle of life.  Well those little whores went and had babies.  We now have 3 adult guppies and 5 babies.  This time we are practicing pure Darwinism and not performing an IUI.  It’s not that I don’t want to save the babies but frankly I can’t spare any wine glasses- I seem to be using a lot lately (gulp).  So far the males have not eaten the babies- I guess sushi is not their thing. 

I feel like these fish are taunting me with their fertility.  Damn you whore fish!  I wonder if some of my fertility drugs got accidentally squirted into their water?  I guess its nice to know something is fertile in this house- grrr!

 

Leave a Reply

