Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Preparing For Playground War Wounds

on May 25, 2013
 

Originally posted Mar 28, 2013 – 

The other day we got a glimpse of what we are going to be like as parents.  I was walking our dogs after work and the neighbor’s dog got loose.  Needless to say neighbor dog and our dogs did NOT get along.  Oz (pit bull) wound up with just a  tooth hole in his head and a torn tip of his ear.  Sasha (dingo hybrid) wound up at the vet needing emergency surgery to close her leg back up.

  Before                                                                     

After

She had to spend the night at the vet so they could give her IV antibiotics.  I did not sleep at all that night.  M and I were feeling horrible that our little baby was at the vet alone without us to comfort her.  We felt bad for Oz who walked around all night crying because he missed his sister.  We were pissed at the neighbors for putting us and the dogs in this situation.  And I was feeling that a horrible mommy for not protecting my fur babies.  I know that there was really nothing I could do and it wasn’t my fault that the neighbor dog got loose but I still felt so bad.  I felt like our dogs trust us to protect them and I had let them down. 

Sasha was able to come home the next night.  She has to wear the lamp shade on her head.  She looks like a Martian.  Oz is afraid of it and doesn’t really want to be around it.  She has to take antibiotics and pain killers for the next 2 weeks and then her stitches can be removed.  The poor thing looks so pathetic.  She has huge dingo ears that stick straight up like a rabbit.  They don’t fit in her lamp shade so her ears are pushed forward.  She is having a hard time getting around.  I’m sure her leg hurts because she is limping plus she keeps banging the lamp shade into everything.  Its clear so I’m sure its messing with her depth perception.  The poor dog just looks so sad and confused.  I feel so helpless.  My baby is hurting and there is nothing I can do for her.

I’ve had Oz for 8 years and Sasha for 10 years.  I got them both as puppies.  M has only known them for the 3 years we have been together.  M’s sperm did not father them.  I did not give birth to them.  Neither one of us has any genetic link to them but we treat them, love them, spoil them and think of them as our babies.  I can’t believe I ever had any doubt how I would react to a donor egg.

Leave a Reply

