Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Nothing Much Going On

on May 25, 2013

tech-update

I’ve been busy the last few days transferring my blog from the old site to this one.  I’ve been writing blog drafts and can finally starting posting them here- yay! 

Just a quick update on what’s been going on:

  • Buttercup (our donor) went in for genetic testing on Thursday.   She has previously been tested for the 100 plus “common” diseases but M is a carrier of Nijmegen Breakage Syndrome so we are having her tested specifically for that.  It’s very, very rare (the doctor even had to look it up) so I’m not really concerned just doing the test for peace of mind.  We should get the results in about 1 week.
  • I’m still on the birth control pill.  The point is to keep my body ready for when we start our cycle.  I’m only supposed to take the active pills (not the last week of placebos).  By only taking the active pills I shouldn’t get my period.   “Shouldn’t” is the operative word.  For the past 2 1/2 weeks I’ve been spotting.  <TMI ALERT> I’ve also had what looks like brown strings come out of me.  I’m assuming that’s the lining of my uterus.   <END OF TMI ALERT>  Yesterday I started bleeding- bright red- not like the brownish spotting.  It looked like a full blown period.  I emailed my doctor to make sure everything is ok.  I don’t care if I get my period but if that’s not what is supposed to happen then that’s not ok.  She said I’m already on the HIGHEST strength pill that is made.  Great- no wonder why I’ve been so emotional and crabby.  This pill has been making me feel like shit for the past 2 months.   Pre-trying to conceive, I was on the pill for over 20 years.  I never once had a problem with it.  No moods swings, no bloating, no cramping, no weight gain.  Well on this type of pill I have all of the above- ugh!  She said that she is happy that she put me on it when she did because obviously its taking its time to suppress me.  I really hope this is not going to be an issue when we start our cycle.  I guess worse case scenario is we do the fertilization and then do a frozen transfer down the line when my body is ready.  That would really suck because I would like to have the first transfer be a fresh one.  Oh well guess time will tell.  I’ve stopped bleeding so let’s hope that the end of that nonsense. 

Other than the above there is nothing new going on.  I was hoping for our summer to start and spend this weekend at the beach club but it was 46 degrees this morning and the highest it got was 54.  Plus its extremely windy- no fun.  I guess we need to count our blessing that it’s not a tornado.  Those poor people in Oklahoma- my heart breaks for them.  At least now I get more blog time 🙂

Leave a Reply

