Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

From Her Lips to God’s Ears

on May 25, 2013
 

Originally posted Apr 1, 2013 – 

My 9 year old niece Emma made this for me for Easter.  She said, “Its a mobile.   You can put it on the fridge for now but then you can use it when you have a baby.”    I guess that’s what they mean when they say “out of the mouths of babes.”

M’s cousin’s were over for Easter with their 7 month old baby.  M was walking him around trying to get the baby to sleep.  Emma said to him “one day you will be doing that to your own baby”.   Again- out of the mouths of babes. 

I have 9 nieces and nephews (from my YOUNGER brothers- yeah, I know- don’t get me started).  How ironic for her out of all of them to say anything about a baby.  Why is that ironic?  Because she is my mini me.  This little girl looks exactly like me.  People are always pointing that out.  I see pictures of her as a baby and I can’t tell if its her or me.   In fact she is the only source of “sting” I receive that I will never have a biological child.  My niece will look more like me than my own baby. 

She has no reason to talk about us having a baby.  She knows we are not married so in a 9 year old’s mind there should be no reason why a baby would come around now.   The cute part is she does know we will get married one day because “we kiss” lol.  But why the baby talk all of a sudden?   And twice in one day?  Maybe she not only looks like me but thinks like me too?  Could I possibly be that connected to a child that is not my own?  From her lips to God’s ears…

Leave a Reply

