Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Does That Egg Come With A Warranty?

on May 25, 2013
 

Originally posted Mar 8, 2013 – 

Another set of emails I received were the COSTS involved in getting a donor egg.  I feel like I’m buying a car and oh golly Miss Molly do I have sticker shock!  As if its not enough to have to go through the physical, mental and emotional trauma of infertility you also have to be slapped with the whole financial end of it as well.   And I really should not complain.  I have been truly, truly blessed up to this point because I have great insurance that has paid for most of it so far.  Last year I paid a little less than $9,000 out of pocket and $7,500 of that was a pre-pay for CCS testing and cryopreservation, which we never got to use so we will be reimbursed for that.  The rest was a accumulation of co-pays for office visits, medication and supplements.

As far as I’ve been told so far, my insurance will cover the shots, office visits, ultrasounds, blood work, retrieval from the donor and transfer.  They do not cover any of the initial consultations, actual donor compensation, administrative enrollment fees, CCS testing or embryo cryopreservation (freezing and storage).  I’m keeping my fingers crossed because our insurance renewal is due as of April 1st and they are still deciding if we are going to stick with our current company or switch to another.  If we switch I could be up shits creek without a paddle. 

Below are the initial fees we will need to pay on Monday even if we decide not to move forward:

$20- co-pay for ultrasound & practice transfer

$200- semen analysis, sperm antibody & freeze sperm sample for 1 year (for an emergency)

$250- psychological screening for us (aren’t they in for a treat lol)

$150- initial consultation fee for the matching coordinator

In addition to that we will have the following payments to make as soon as we select a donor:

$8,000- donor compensation

$4,000- cycle management fees (donor screening process, donor insurance (in case she has to be hospitalized), nurse & doctor ‘s time to monitor and coordinate the recipient & egg donor)

$1,200- matching coordinator (enrollment & matching fee)

There is also fine print that says: $1,000 for an attempt at ovulation induction that is unsuccessful due to poor response to the medication plus any monitoring and medication costs.

None of the above includes the CCS testing or freezing, which we would still like to do.  I haven’t been able to nail down the exact cost for that at this clinic.  They sent me a spreadsheet with a ton of different genetic type tests with various costs associated.  I’m not sure exactly which test would apply to what we want to do since its all medical jargon.  I’ll have to review it with them on Monday.  If I’m reading this correctly it looks like $2,835 but I’m not sure.  The tests are run by another company- Reprogenetics.  I know we will have to pay IVF NJ $3,000 to actually do the biopsy for the tests and then transport the biopsy to Reprogenetics. 

So far (not sure yet of any hidden costs) it looks like our first (and hopefully only) attempt at this will cost approximately $20,000.  Keep in mine that there is NO guarantee.  This can go a few ways:

1) We can either have a successful cycle with a donor that produces many eggs that fertilize and have lots of embryos for Baby #2

2) We get a donor that doesn’t produce any eggs or ones that don’t fertilize and then we are back to square 1

3) Our donor doesn’t respond to the drugs (like I didn’t my 1st cycle) and then we have to find a new donor and are out $1,000 to the donor and lose 50% of the cycle management fee

4) we get many eggs that fertilize and pass the CCS test but don’t implant

Call my glass half full but I’m feeling good about using donor eggs and really think this will work for us.  Now all I need to figure out is which bank to rob to pay for it.

Leave a Reply

