Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Shots Shots Shots

on May 24, 2013
 

Originally posted Feb 25, 2013 – 

I remember the days in my wild youth when the only shots on my body included lemon and salt.  Now “honey its time to do some shots” takes on a whole new meaning.  I just got a call from my nurse.  The doctor reviewed my blood work results and wants me to do ANOTHER shot of Ovidrel tonight.  Of course I don’t have any more Ovidrel so I have to go to the office after work and she will leave it in an unmarked bag outside the door.  Good thing I don’t have to leave her money or this will totally look like a drug deal.

In case you haven’t noticed I have OCD.  Yeah, I’m the type that’s lining up the gum packets at the grocery store check out.  Last night I had to do 2 Ovidrel shots so that was easy- one follicle in each ovary so one shot on each side of my stomach- totally fair and even.  So now what?  A third shot is totally throwing me off.   What side should I take it on?  How do I favor one phantom potential child over the other.  ARGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!  Now I know how Meryl Streep felt in Sophie’s Choice.

Leave a Reply

