Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

“Rapunzel, Rapunzel”

on May 24, 2013
 

Originally posted Feb 11, 2013 – 

IVF kinda does make me feel like I am locked away high up in some dreary tower somewhere.  I never really thought of it that way until I came up with my topic for this blog. 

I’ve been growing my hair for a little over 2 years.  My plan is to donate it once it gets to a certain length which is usually 12 inches.  I’ve done Locks of Love twice already so I think this time I might donate it to Pantene.  Currently its long enough to cover my breasts a la mermaid style.   Unlike my eggs, I’ve been blessed when it comes to my hair- I have a ton of it.  Its very thick and naturally highlighted year-round, more so in the summer beach months.  The thing is- I can’t stand long hair.  I think it looks pretty but that’s where my admiration of it ends.  I usually wear it in a pony tail because I hate having it hang on me or have it blowing around or falling in my food when I eat.  It takes forever to brush and even longer to dry.  So this hair, that I’m growing to give to someone less fortunate, is actually a burden to me.  I’ve realized that something that comes so easy for me is also taken for granted by me.  I don’t know what its like to not have nice hair so I don’t even think about not ever having it.  There are plenty of people out there with Alopecia or who have gone through chemo that wish they could have hair like me.  And that’s why I donate it.  I wonder if people who get pregnant so easily take that for granted like I do my hair.  I would hope not but I bet they do because they don’t know any different.  I wish I could trade my hair for some eggs but I’m guessing that might be illegal.  Although I do have to BUY my “donor” eggs so I should be able to trade for them.  I also think they should not call it an egg “donor” because donor implies there is no fee involved.  I donate my hair- I don’t charge for my hair.  The person that “donates” their eggs to us will be paid $8,000.   Although if you “donate” a kidney you don’t get paid for it.  I think I’m on to something here!  Its probably because society does not see infertility the same way they see other diseases- but that’s a topic for a whole other blog- I promise.

So, long story short (no pun intended) I have decided NOT to cut my hair until I get pregnant.  I haven’t really figured out what  ”pregnant” means like “just a confirmed pregnancy from a blood test” or “past the first trimester” or whatever but yes- I will not cut my hair until I, at the very least, have confirmed that an egg (mine or otherwise) and M’s sperm have come together, grown for 3-5 days, passed all tests put before it, was put into my womb and rested for a minimum of a 2 week period (aka- the dreaded 2 week wait).  In the back of my head I’m thinking “oh shit- I could be tripping on my hair by the time that happens” but there- I’ve blogged it so that’s my oath.

Leave a Reply

