Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

e=mc2 : If Only Making Babies Was That Easy

on May 24, 2013
 

Originally posted Dec 20, 2012 – 

Yup, it seems the science of matter and energy is much easier to figure out then how to have a baby via IVF.  Albert Einstein once said the definition of Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.  So at the risk of being labeled “insane” (lol) our next cycle will be a different protocol.  Our doctor consulted with some of his colleagues and they have developed the only other protocol they think “may” work other than what we have been doing.  This is our last chance at using my own eggs so I’ll give it a shot- pun intended!  Frankly, if they told me I would get pregnant by shaking a bloody chicken foot I would do it- happily.  I am very willing to try ANYTHING!

7-10 days before my period I will go in for blood work.  Once my  luteal phase is confirmed I will take Estrace along with a shot of Ganirelix for 3 days in a row.  The Ganirelix is supposed to “stop my brain from communicating with my ovaries”.  When the doctor told me this I thought it sounded a little Planet of the Apes but what the heck.  Once I get my period I will start my stims (shots) with 300 follistim and 225 Menopur.  I’ve taken Follistim in the previous cycles but Menopur is new to me.  I’m curious to see what side effects Ganirelix and Menopur will have on me.  I will NOT be taking Lupron mixture or Low Dose HCG with this protocol.    M will enjoy the mad scientist part of the Menopur because its a liquid and a powder that has to be mixed- right up his alley.  And last but not least- and God willing- once my follicles grow to 14mm I will go back on the Ganirelix until we are ready for the trigger shots and retrieval.  I’m assuming my trigger shots will be Ovidrel again but I’m not totally sure.

M will be away from Jan 17 to 22 so we won’t be able to start my next cycle until Feb.  I’m very sad to have to wait but such is life on the IVF roller coaster.   I’m hoping 2013 will be the year for our family.

Leave a Reply

