Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Chapter 2

on May 23, 2013
 

Originally posted Oct 16, 2012 – 

We are starting the next chapter in our fertility book.  I know eventually we will have a Happily Ever After.  This morning I went for my baseline blood work and ultrasound.  My doctor was pleasantly surprised with what we saw.  He said my ovaries had a lot more “bounce and life” to them.  This pretty much proved his theory that the birth control pills over suppressed my ovaries in my previous cycle.  This is wonderful news!  I have 2 follicles on my left size that are already measuring 14 and 16, which is double the size they were last time.  And the best news of all- I haven’t even started my injections!  I have a few more follicles on my left that are smaller- they still have plenty of time to catch up- and I have a few on my right side.  

I received my injectables today.  The women at the pharmacy are so sweet- they included a little baggie of Hersey Kisses with my package.  So thoughtful of them.

My nurse called and said my progesterone levels were great so I can start taking the Estrace pill tonight.  I’ll be taking estrogen pills this cycle instead of birth control so I won’t get over suppressed again.  I take 1 pill in the morning and 1 pill at night and continue until I get my period.  Once I get my period I will go for more blood work and ultrasound on day 3 and can probably start the shots that night.  Come on period!  Get here fast!!!!!

Leave a Reply

