Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Better Luck Next Time?

on May 23, 2013
 

Originally posted Sep 28, 2012 – 

I went to the doctor this morning for blood work and ultrasound.  I got the feeling it was going to be a bad day as soon as I sat down in the vampire’s chair.  She said she wasn’t going to be able to use the vein in my right arm because it had formed scar tissue from overuse.   That stinks because the vein in my left arm sucks and its hard to get a needle into it.  She did manage to get the needle in but not without a lot of pain- ouch!

Next was the ultrasound.  The doctor said that I didn’t develop any more follicles and the 6 that I had earlier in the week did not grow.  This means I have to abandon the cycle.  I was completely devastated.  I had nightmares of the IVF not sticking but the drugs not working never even entered my mind.  I asked if it was worth trying to retrieval the 6 that I had and he looked at me so sadly and said, “Honey you have nothing to retrieve.”  I was heart broken.  The follicles need to be a certain size and mine were mere specks. 

Before I started the injectables I was put on the birth control pill for 12 days.  My doctor said it is “possible” that the BCP over-suppressed my ovaries causing them to not react to the drugs.  The only way to test that theory is to try another cycle without BCP and use an estrogen pill instead.  As long as we are willing to try and insurance is willing to pay for more drugs he said its worth the shot- no pun intended.  He does however feel that my ovaries have spoken and they are saying they don’t want to work.  He thinks that a different protocol being successful is ”possible but not probable”.   He strongly suggests we contemplate getting an egg donor.  M and I are totally open to using an egg donor but I feel we need to exhaust other options first using my own eggs- if I can even produce any. 

I’m waiting now for a call from my nurse to see what my next protocol and timeline will be.

Leave a Reply

