Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Becoming a Pin Cushion

on May 23, 2013
 

Originally posted Sep 20, 2012 – 

This morning I went for blood work and an ultrasound.  My uterine lining was thin so that’s a good thing.  The doctor saw 3 follicles in each ovary.  He said he prefers to see at least 4 in each but 6-8 follicles is not a bad start.  There is also a possiblity that 1 or more are hiding and can’t be seen in the ultrasound.  We are keeping our fingers crossed that the 6 I have will mature.   Later in the afternoon I got the call from my nurse regarding my blood tests.  She gave me the thumbs up to start my shots tonight.  Tonight I just get 1 shot and then tomorrow I start my full cycle with 1 shot in the morning and 3 at night.  I will feel like I’m wrestling a cactus.  M starts taking his antibiotic tomorrow.  He will need to take 1 in the morning and 1 at night for the next 12 days.  I go back in on Monday for another ultrasound and more blood work.  Depending on my follicles we will hopefully continue the cycle, if not we will need to abandon it and start all over again.  I’m hoping we will be able to continue which means I would be doing our 1st retrieval in 10 to 14 days.  I’ve been waiting for this day forever!  I wonder how the shot is going to feel and how I’m going to react?  Good thing I have Will

Leave a Reply

