Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Test Tube Baby?

on May 22, 2013
 

Originally posted Aug 4, 2012 –
 
 

<:section>

I totally forgot about the term “Test Tube Baby” until I started thinking about it the other day.  When IVF first started that is what the media labeled these babies and the process.  I had forgotten about it because with so many people waiting to have babies until later in life IVF seems to me to be as common as natural conception.From time to time I think about whether or not we are doing the right thing.  I know having our family is right and I know I’m doing it with the right person.  But I have to be honest and say that 1% of me wonders if the whole medical aspect is right.  Are we playing God?  If he wanted us to have a baby would we have been able to do it naturally?  Are we meant to be adoptive parents instead?  I think about all the children out there that don’t have parents to love them.  I’ve researched adoption as much as I have IVF. I guess I can make the same arguement FOR IVF as I could against it.  And part of my nature is to think about EVERYTHING.  That’s my problem- I think too much!

 

The bottom line is- I want to be a mom, M wants to be a dad and we want to have a family together.  So the end result- a family- is the goal with the means of getting there not important.  We’ve both committed to doing everything scientifically possible to have a biological child- or at the very least M’s biological child.  After we’ve exhausted ourselves physically, mentally, emotionally and probably financially and if it still hasn’t happened then we can say OK IVF wasn’t meant to be and move on to adoption.  I know in my heart that we will be amazing parents either way.

Leave a Reply

