Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Post-op Visit

on May 22, 2013
 

Originally posted Aug 23, 2012 –

 

1 week after my surgery we went back for the post- op visit.  I told the doctor since I didn’t have any pain and minimal spotting that I didn’t believe he did anything to me.  He showed us the before and after pictures of my uterus and clearly he did a lot!  All the tests came back benign so we have been given the thumbs up to start the IVF process- YAY!!!!!  While we were there we had to sign a HUGE stack of legal papers for the IVF process to start.  Wow they really cover their asses.  There was a “risk of side effects from IVF” and one of them was pregnancy.  Really?  Another paragraph stated that pregnancy may not happen due to destruction of embryos that included “hurricanes, tornadoes and other acts of God or bombing or other terroristic acts”.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  Good to know they are thorough.  So the next step is to wait for my period, which I may not get this month due to the D&C the doctor gave me during my surgery.  And since they had me take the birth control pill before my surgery who knows when I’ll get it.  My nurse will email me a hypothetical schedule of how the cycle will be as far as how long I will take the drugs, etc. 

A few days after the post-op I received a Statement of Services from my insurance company for my surgery.  They were billed $9787.94 and I am responsible for NOTHING.  Thank God I have great insurance!

Leave a Reply

