Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

How It All Started

on May 22, 2013
 

Originally posted Aug 1, 2012 – 
I’ve known M since high school.  Since we have both been previously married and divorced we felt no rush to get married.  We’ve been together for a little over 2 years and live together with 5 fur children.  We’ve talked about eventually getting married and having kids.   We’ve been having unprotected sex the whole time we have been together with the mindset that if we got pregnant it would be a blessing but we didn’t think it was going to happen on its own.  Well- it hasn’t!  On our 2 year anniversary (June 2012) M reminded me that we are both 39 years old and if we ever wanted to have a family we couldn’t delay any longer.  Of course we went into full speed.  I contacted my insurance to find out what was covered.  To my surprise everything is covered and I have up to 4 IVF retrievals which is amazing.  My company had just switched to this insurance so it had to be a sign :)   I selected a local doctor since I knew we would be going often for blood work, etc.  Lucky for me (but not for them) I have some friends who have gone thru this so I have  a huge support system and people I can bounce ideas off of or find out what they did or what hurt or the stress level, etc.  I was able to get an appt right away- very excited!

Leave a Reply

