Starting Our Family

The reality of infertility, IVF and donor eggs

Day 3 Blood Work

on May 22, 2013
 

Originally posted Aug 2, 2012 –
 
 
Luckily my period was right around the same time as my 1st appt with the doctor so we could start everything right away.  All these tests are scheduled within days of your period so I don’t have to wait until my next cycle.  On the 3rd day of my period (June 23rd) I went in for blood work to check my FSH (follicle stimulating hormone).  One thing I love about this doctor is all blood work is done between 6 am and 7:30 am- 7 days a week.  That is going to be great when I have to go in every other day for blood work- I can do it all before work- yay! The nurse called me back the same day with my results.  She said that my AMH (anti-mullerian hormone) level was low.  She said they like it to be at least 1 but mine is below 1.  That means my egg quantity is low.  I’m pretty upset about that but hopefully the injectables will help that. She also said my thyroid level is high.  She said 4.5 would be a normal thyroid level for someone not trying to get pregnant.  Someone trying to get pregnant they like it to be 2.5- mine if 2.9.   Great so now I have to take a pill every morning to level that out.  And it has to be taken on an empty stomach and I can’t eat for 1 hour after it.  But my pre-natal pills I need to take after I eat or I feel like I’m going to throw up.  So flow charts will be needed- lol.  I take the thyroid pill as soon as I wake up- before I even brush my teeth.  By the time I get to work I’m able to eat breakfast and then take my pre-natal pill.
Leave a Reply

